Four tradespersons from Haldimand County have been recognized for their outstanding contributions to the skilled trades.

The newly created Skilled Tradespersons of the Year awards were handed out Sept. 20 at a trades appreciation event organized by the Workforce Planning Board.

Construction: Chris Swick, a promoter of the electrician trade with IBEW, Local 105.
Industrial: Dave Suess, a millwright who teaches millwrighting at Mohawk College.
Industrial: Neil Huctwith, an industrial mechanic millwright at Stelco Inc.
Service: Henrietta Heeg, a dairy herdsperson and owner of Springknoll Dairy.

John Edelman of Haldimand Motors (shown in photo) served as Master of Ceremonies.

The event was also an opportunity for local businesses and tradespeople to share their views on how to attract more people to work in in-demand skilled trades and how the current apprenticeship system can be approved

Translate »

Help Us Serve You Better

We are collecting data to better understand who is looking for work and what kind of opportunities jobseekers are searching for. This data is completely anonymous and non-personally identifiable.

Your Age: